La Galerie est une collection d'oeuvres d'art public qui complémente la vue époustouflante qu'offre les routes de campagne des collines de la Gatineau.  Les oeuvres sur les fermes et leurs bâtiments débuteront sur le chemin Shouldice à La Pêche, près de Wakefield, Québec, puis La Galerie se déroulera le long d'un pittoresque parcours sur les chemins des Érables et de la Beurrerie, jusqu'à Masham.


ArtiCulture créera La Galerie afin de mettre en valeur les beautés de la nature, réinventer les fermes et célébrer les arts à La Pêche.  Elle sera une ambitieuse célébration de qui nous sommes et créera un nouvel attrait touristique dans la région de l'Outaouais.


L'inclusion et l'exposition d'œuvres de la communauté des artistes de La Pêche est au cœur de La Galerie. ArtiCulture est impatient de mettre en valeur les artistes de la région. La première étape de La Galerie est la création de six œuvres d'art, auxquelles  s'ajouteront des expositions d'artistes locaux, permanentes et temporaires. ArtiCulture invitera des artistes locaux à présenter leurs idées pour différents types d'expositions qui se dérouleront en toutes saisons. Nous espérons aussi que La Galerie attirera également des artistes internationaux pour des expositions permanentes ou temporaires.


Artistes

Des artistes canadiens, créateurs d'imposantes oeuvres d'art à Toronto, en Inde et à Kinngait (Cape Dorset, Nunavut), exploreront, s'inspireront et créeront des oeuvres d'art de La Galerie.  Alexa Hatanaka (Toronto) et Patrick Thompson (natif de Chelsea), connus sous le nom de PA System, créent ensemble des installations artistiques en utilisant différents médiums: peinture, sculpture, textile, imprimerie et vidéo.  Leur projet actuel, Embassy of Imagination (Ambassade de l'imagination), basé à Kinngait, sert de mentor et engage les jeunes de la communauté dans une pratique artistique contemporaine: murales publiques dans les centres urbains du Canada, incluant la station OC Transpo St-Laurent et dans le marché By à Ottawa, Ontario.  PA System expose dans plusieurs institutions internationales, incluant la maison du Canada à Londres, R.-U., le Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona, Espagne et le Musée des Beaux-Arts de l'Ontario (AGO) à Toronto. www.pasystem.org

Mise en place

Le design du projet initial et l'étude de faisabilité de La Galerie sont déjà entamés: les propriétaires des fermes ont accepté les spécifications générales du projet.


Les artistes décrivent le processus de création et le résultat de la façon suivante: "Les concepts et le visuel émergeront du temps passé avec la communauté, dans l'environnement et dans les granges.  Les choses à considérer: le passé lointain, l'historique de l'endroit, la communauté actuelle, le futur, les valeurs, les intentions de la communauté, le monde naturel, incluant le microscopique, les histoires locales, le mouvement de la lumière, les rythmes et formes naturelles qui émergent ainsi que les rythmes et formes créés par les résidents."


La création artistique débutera par une résidence de six semaines, à l'automne 2019, à la Place des Artistes (PAF), Farrellton, Qc, où les deux artistes feront de la recherche et exploreront différents concepts et designs de structures.  Les membres de la communauté artistique locale seront invités à participer à cette exploration et à partager des détails au sujet de la région.


Au printemps 2020, les artistes seront de retour à La Pêche et y séjourneront deux mois, afin de développer les installations spécifiques à chacune des fermes.  Le projet culminera avec la mise en place des oeuvres d'art le long de la route.  Une célébration de lancement suivra à l'été 2020, incluant des événements artistiques communautaires à chacune des fermes.

Imaginez une promenade dans le sud-ouest du Québec, en auto, en vélo ou à pied, sur le chemin Shouldice au nord de Wakefield, puis vers l'ouest jusqu'à Masham.  Vous côtoierez plusieurs fermes dans ce paysage pittoresque;  en vous approchant près de l'une d'entre elles, vous apercevrez sur un des bâtiment une magnifique oeuvre d'art grand format qui met en valeur une particularité de la région, ses caractéristiques, son histoire, et ses mystères.  En poursuivant votre parcours, vous découvrirez davantage d'oeuvres d'art. Qu'est-ce qui se dévoile?


La Galerie: l'art en nature


Une ballade campagnarde à travers une collection d'art

Detail: temporary sculpture installed at Burl's Creek during  Wayhome Festival, 2015,

Photo Jeff Bierk

Sculpture temporaire installée à Burl's Creek pour le Festival Wayhome , 2015,

Photo Jeff Bierk

français

La Galerie (working title) is a public art collection on a country road, complementing the breathtaking beauty of the Gatineau Hills. Artwork on farms and their buildings will start on chemin Shouldice in La Pêche, just outside Wakefield, Québec and then La Galerie will connect by way of this stunning route along des Erables and de Beurrerie to the town of Masham.


ArtiCulture (articulture.ca), will create La Galerie to embrace the natural beauty, reimagine our farms, and celebrate the arts in La Pêche. It will be an ambitious celebration of who we are, and create a new tourist landmark for the Outaouais region.

La Galerie: Art in Nature.


A country Ride through an Art Collection

What is it you can do?

This project requires significant funding. We are at work to raise revenue from the various levels of government. We have the support of the Mayor of La Pêche. And we need your support. Climb on board on the exciting early stages of this great endeavour. Feel the satisfaction of being part of a great artistic landmark.


Donor Levels


Good Friend  $50+

Website promotion for one full year, showcasing your contribution as a proud partner of the visual arts in your community


Helper $200+

Website promotion on the website for one full year, active promotion through our social media for the full year, showcasing your contribution as a partner of the visual arts in your community


Initiative Partner $500+

Prime website promotion for one full year, high visibility in all of our social media promotion for one year and any communications, showcasing your contribution as a partner of the visual arts in your community.


Vision Partner $750+

Prime website promotion as well as important credit in our promotional material for one full year, high visibility in all of our social media promotion, guided visits to the sites in La Galerie, is as well as communications and special recognition at our opening.

Artists

Canadian artists—creators of stunning public artworkfrom Toronto to India to Kinngait (Cape Dorset, Nunavut)—will research, respond to, and create artwork for La Galerie. Alexa Hatanaka (Toronto) and Patrick Thompson (Chelsea native)—collectively known as PA System—together create artwork in a variety of media: painting, scultpure, textile, printmaking, and video. Their ongoing project, Embassy of Imagination, based in Kinngait, mentors and engages community youth in contemporary art practice, including public murals in Canada’s urban centres, including the St. Laurent OC Transpo Station and in the ByWard Market in Ottawa, Ontario. PA System exhibits in institutions internationally, including Canada House in London, UK; the Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona, Spain; and the Art Gallery of Ontario, in Toronto.

www.pasystem.org

Implementation

Initial project design and feasibility for La Galerie has begun: the owners of the farms have agreed to the general project specs.


The artists describe the creative process and the result as follows: “concepts and visuals will come from dedicated time in the community, in the environment, at the barns.Things to consider: deep time, history of place, current community, future, values, intentions of community, natural world including microscopic, local stories, movement of light, rhythms and shapes naturally occurring, rhythms and shapes made by residents.”


The artistic creation will begin with a six-week residency in the fall of 2019 at Place des Artistes, Farrellton (PAF), QC, where the two artists will research, explore concepts and structural designs. Members of the local artistic community will be invited to participate in that exploration and to provide insights about the area.


In the spring of 2020 the artists will return to La Pêche and spend two months developing the work specific to each farm. The project will culminate with the installation of work along the route. A launch celebration will follow in the summer of 2020, along with community art events at the various locations.

Imagine, on a tour of southwest Québec, a drive, bike ride, or a hike north of Wakefield, up chemin Shouldice and west to Masham, passing the picturesque farms and landscapes on your way north. As you approach a farm, you notice on one of its buildings a stunning large scale art piece. It illuminates something special about the area, its characteristics, its history and that which lies behind what we can see. As you you continue your journey, you encounter more artworks. What is the narrative that unfolds?

Sponsorship

ArtiCulture is actively seeking sponsors. For sponsorship opportunities, please contact us.

View along chemin Shouldice, Photo Julie Le Gal

Temporary sculpture installed at Burl's Creek during the Wayhome Festival, 2015,

Photo Jeff Bierk

Barn along chemin Shouldice, Photo Julie Le Gal

Detail: temporary sculpture installed at Burl's Creek during  Wayhome Festival, 2015,

Photo Jeff Bierk